'63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE

€ 110.000

Alvis, British motoring heritage at its best. Alvis started out as a small engine factory in 1919, and were well known for producing an aluminium piston engine, so the owner proposed the name ALVIS combining the words ‘aluminium’, and ‘vis’, meaning strength in Latin. Starting with their first model in the early 20s, the company gained a reputation for quality and performance. Following racing success at Le Mans in '28, Alvis produced one of the first front wheel drive production models with overhead camshaft and supercharger. Later cars introduced ‘in true Alvis tradition’ the world’s first all-synchromesh gearbox, independent front suspension and servo brakes. In 1950, a 3-litre six-cylinder engine was announced, which since then became the base engine for all their produced cars. In '53, Alvis agreed to build the Graber coachwork on their chassis, but it was so expensive they only build around 17 examples in three years, before Alvis bought the Graber rights in '55 and struck a deal with well-known Bentley and Rolls coachbuilder, Park Ward, to build the cars. The resultant TD21 was announced in 59 and received excellent press, calling it ‘one of the most enchanting owner-driver cars imaginable’. It was THE success model for Alvis. These cars, TD21 and its later variants, the TE21, and finally the TF21 are known for its build quality, attraction and speed. However, it was clear by the mid-60s that with a price tag of nearly double that of the mass-produced Jaguar, the end could not be far off.
Registered new in 1963, this lovely TD Drophead Coupé was in the same family until purchased by its present owner in 2011. Since that date the car has undergone an extensive program of restoration and improvements; the car received a nuts and bolts restoration and has been resprayed in its original Alice Blue, finished off with a lovely off-white hide interior. Engine and mechanics have been rebuilt to an excellent standard, and the car still looks and drives excellent almost 10 years after its restoration, which really shows the quality of the work done. All this work is fully documented in invoices as well as with hundreds of pictures. Historical documents are present and include old paperwork of the first owner until today.
The press was more than right when stating that this was a superb owner-driver car, with the additional Bentley or Rolls look and feel to it. Gear changing goes as smoothly as the ride. The handling benefits of an electrical power steering upgrade, so driving around town goes as effortlessly as with a modern car. As this is a four-seater convertible, it's a car that can take you and the family out for some lovely country drives. And for its presence it is amongst the finest examples we have encountered, making it fit nicely in any collection.

Interested in this vehicle?

Contact us
or call +32 50 73 75 71
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE

'63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE

€ 110.000

Alvis, l'héritage automobile britannique à son meilleur. Alvis a commencé comme une petite usine de moteurs en 1919, et était bien connu pour produire un moteur à pistons en aluminium. Le créateur avait donc proposé le nom ALVIS, combinant les mots « aluminium » et « vis », signifiant force en latin. Dès leur premier modèle au début des années 20, l'entreprise a acquis une réputation de qualité et de performance. Après leur succès en course au Mans en 28, Alvis a produit l'un des premiers modèles de série à traction avant avec arbre à cames en tête et compresseur. Ils ont par la suite introduit, « dans la vraie tradition d'Alvis » la première boîte de vitesses entièrement synchronisée au monde, une suspension avant indépendante et des servo-freins. En 1950, un moteur six cylindres de 3 litres a été annoncé, qui est depuis devenu le moteur de base de toutes leurs voitures produites. En 53, Alvis a accepté de construire la carrosserie Graber sur leur châssis, mais c'était tellement cher qu'ils n'en ont construit qu'environ 17 exemplaires en trois ans, avant qu'Alvis n'achète les droits de Graber en 55 et ne conclue un accord avec célèbre carrossier de Bentley et Rolls, Park Ward, pour construire les voitures. La TD21 résultante a été annoncée en 59 et a reçu une presse excellente, la qualifiant de « l'une des voitures propriétaires-conducteurs les plus enchanteresses imaginables ». C'était LE modèle de réussite pour Alvis. Ces voitures, la TD21 et ses variantes ultérieures, la TE21 et enfin la TF21 sont connues pour leur qualité de construction, attrait et vitesse. Cependant, au milieu des années 60, il était clair qu'avec un prix de près du double de celui de la Jaguar (produite en série), la fin s’approchait à grands pas pour Alvis.
Enregistrée neuve en 1963, cette jolie TD Drophead Coupé est restée dans la même famille jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit achetée par son propriétaire actuel en 2011. Depuis cette date, la voiture a fait l'objet d'une vaste restauration et amélioration ; la voiture a reçu une restauration « Nuts & Bolts » et a été repeinte dans sa couleur originale « Alice Blue », finie avec un bel intérieur en cuir blanc cassé. Le moteur et la mécanique ont subi une restauration excellente, et la voiture conserve toujours sa qualité et son cachet près de 10 ans après ladite restauration, ce qui fait preuve de la qualité du travail effectué. Tout ce travail est entièrement documenté grâce aux factures ainsi qu’avec des centaines de photos. Les documents historiques sont présents, et incluent les vieux papiers du premier propriétaire jusqu'à aujourd'hui.
La presse avait plus que raison quand elle disait qu'il s'agissait d'une superbe voiture propriétaire-conducteur, avec le look & feel d'une Bentley ou une Rolls. La boîte de vitesses est tout aussi douce que la conduite. Le système de conduite a profité d'une mise à niveau d'une direction assistée électrique, de sorte que la conduite en ville soit aussi facile et agréable qu'avec une voiture moderne. Comme il s'agit d'un cabriolet quatre places, c'est une voiture qui peut vous emmener, vous et votre famille, faire de belles promenades à la campagne. Elle fait facilement partie des plus beaux exemplaires que nous ayons pu voir, ce qui la rend parfaitement adaptée à n'importe quelle collection.

Ce véhicule vous intéresse?

Contactez-nous
ou appelez le +32 50 73 75 71
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE
  • '63 Alvis TD21 DROPHEAD COUPE